The meaninglessness of life, again

--

I watched Asteroid City (movie) last night, and it was a good reminder of the meaninglessness of life.

One highly emphasized point was “You can’t wake up if you don’t fall asleep”. And to me, that means you need to have been awake at some point, before you fell asleep.

As children, we kind of experience the raw elements of life, and then society/superficial priorities take over and prime us into things that don’t matter. As a kid, all I ever cared about was enjoying my time with my mom, exploring, and having a fun time. Somewhere, I lost that. But perhaps I’m waking up to it again.

I also keep re-remembering how meaningless everything is. I need to soon let go of the unimportant things, and only hold on to the important things.

--

--

My Secret Notebook

Quirky, curious, and philosophical Asian American gay Ivy League grad living in Southern California.